POST-IT-NOTE GATE : “I am disappointed with my fellow humans” – SAYS CLLR BURNETT

The "Post-It Note saga rumbles on.

The “Post-It Note saga rumbles on.

After what she describes as a “rubbish week of personal attacks and lies” Councillor Lis Burnett (Labour St Augustines) has hit back at her critics on social media in the wake of  the “Post It Note” controversy.

On Twitter Cllr Lis Burnett (Labour St Augustines) expressed her disappointment with everybody

On Twitter Cllr Lis Burnett (Labour St Augustines) expressed her disappointment in everybody

Cllr Burnett says in her tweet that she is “disappointed with my fellow humans”  and goes on to take inspiration  from the distinguished American civil rights campaigner Dr Maya Angelou by linking her remarks to a YouTube video of Professor Angelou reading her moving poem of struggle against adversity “Still I Rise”.

Amerrican Civil Rights campaigner Professor Maya Angelou (left) and Cllr Lis Burnett (right)

Amerrican Civil Rights campaigner Professor Maya Angelou (left) and Cllr Lis Burnett (right)

A Vale Conservative Party source commented  “Even tacitly suggesting that the struggle for civil rights is analogous to her [Cllr Burnett’s] struggle to accept public criticism is beyond parody”

In other remarks Cllr Burnett also points-out to her critics that she can “dead-lift 70 kilograms”.

The comments all follow in the wake of the “Post-It-Note” row – a row emanating from Cllr Burnett’s reaction (some described it as ‘over-reaction’) to having a joke “Post-It” note placed on the windscreen of her car by Vale Assembly candidate Ross England when it was parked outside the Vale Conservative offices in Barry in November last year. The little note bore the words “PENALTY CHARGE NOTICE” .[ See PDN http://tinyurl.com/hp75kvc ]

Cllr Burnett had demanded to review the CCTV footage captured by the security cameras operated by the “Safer Vale Partnership” from a control centre in the Vale of Glamorgan Council’s headquarters in Barry in order to establish who had left the offending note on her windscreen.

Now, for PDN readers with half-an-hour to spare,  and who may wish to gain new insights into the continuing saga over their morning coffee, here are some of the comments which have since appeared on the Facebook page of the Barry and District News which provide a cross section of local opinion:-

  Comments

Jon Hill

Jon Hill Love the fact Liz has time in her busy schedule to request CCTV footage and “review” it for the heinous crime of a post-it note left on her car whereas 99.9% of the population wouldve just picked it off and put it in the bin without a second thought. She must be bored. Get a life and get on with your job.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold She does do a good job. Looks after Penarth and screws over Barry.

Hazel Evans

Hazel Evans Amazing how when a REAL crime happens i.e the repeated break in of my husbands work van no CCTV is available. Thank goodness CCTV was covering this area and the perpetrator could be found. No idea how you’d be at risk from a post it note but who knows what dangers are out there!

Shirley Hodges

Cllr Shirley Hodges Can I see the CCTV footage of High Street? Or is this an example of abuse of position. Perhaps labour want to watch Fred Johnson pop into the spoons with his Tory friends after VOG planning meetings. [ PDN Note: Cllr Shirley Hodges is the leader of Plaid Cymru on Barry Town Council]

Hide 21 Replies
Chris Elmore

Cllr Chris Elmore Anyone can request cctv footage Shirley, as you’ll be aware when an incident happens, whatever that may be, cctv is requested if in use in the area of the incident to help find who committed the offence. [ PDN Note: Cllr Chris Elmore (Labour Castleland Ward,  Barry) is in charge of education in the Vale of Glamorgan Council and – like Cllr Burnett – is a member of its six-strong ruling ‘cabinet’ ]

Matt Davies

Matt Davies But invariably Mr Elmore the general public can’t view the CCTV for “data protection”.

Shirley Hodges

Shirley Hodges Chris Elmore someone puts a post it on your car. Come on why bother look at CCTV. That was a total waste of time

Shirley Hodges

Cllr Shirley Hodges STOP THE PRESS Post It found on car. Shock horrid major story in Barry. Who’s job was it to check the CCTV?

Clive Riley

Clive Riley Would rather hear about the facilities for colcot sports centre. Pathetic story.

Chris Elmore

Cllr Chris Elmore Lis didn’t go to the press, all she asked was why someone from that office did it, it was a simple question, she asked that of Alun Cairns, as he’s the MP and you’d Kind of hope/think he’d know what his staff are doing. Ross decided to go to the press, that’s up to him I guess. As ever Shirley you have to have ‘a go’ because I guess you take any opportunity to make a political point, that’s fine of course as that’s your right, but I’m not getting into an argument about it. I answered your question because it was a fair question.
Thanks all
Chris

Steve Rees

Steve Rees Rubbish. She’s not trying to make a political point. What a major over reaction. Pathetic. You all basically act like children in a playground.

Shirley Hodges

Cllr Shirley Hodges Chris Elmore there’s some really big issues out there Chris. Both Ross and Lis don’t come out of this looking reasonable people. I’m unsure why you feel the need to defend in this instance.

Chris Elmore

Cllr Chris Elmore I’m not sure I did defended anyone I didn’t even comment on the article, Lis and Ross can comment on the article and make their own positions clear, you asked a question, or rather posed one, which I thought was reasonable and I answered it. You then commented further, that’s your right of course. I only answered the question nothing more. As I say I’m not going to get into an argument about it, because there are much bigger things to worry about. The B&D obviously choice to run an article, that’s there choice. [ PDN Note: sic] Not sure I understand Mr Rees comment, as I’ve not done anything but answer was I thought was a reasonable question. How any cllr, candidate AM or MP conducts themselves is a matter for them, I’ve no interesting in arguing or falling out over it.
Cheers
Chris

Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts Chris I’m disappointed to see you defending such a gross overreaction by Lis Burnett and an abuse of her position. Data protection and privacy laws would have someone from the general public jumping through hoops to gain access to CCTV footage and rightly so and given the paperwork and supporting documents you have to provide just to get a parking permit in Barry I very much doubt a member of the public would be granted access for such a trivial matter. Sadly this country has a burgeoning political class who have an ever increasing sense of entitlement.

Lis Burnett

Cllr Lis Burnett Reposting my comment from above for information. I’ve been interested to read the comments on the post and thought it would be worth clarifying a few points. 1. There was absolutely nothing to identify the person who had placed the note and so could not judge if it was a joke or whether I was at risk. Far from being a prank it appears that Mr England took every step to avoid identification by walking right around the block before returning to his office. 2. In such a situation anyone can ask for CCTV coverage to be reviewed. It is necessary to provide the time and location and a description of the incident and then CCTV operatives review the specific footage. It is not possible to just watch CCTV footage without reason. In this case I notified a ten minute period but the incident took place only 2 minutes after I had left the car. 3. I did not make the matter public. I wrote privately to Alun Cairns MP about the conduct of his staff. My letter was then used by his employee to attack me. The only comment I have made to the media was to issue the same response to both papers when they asked for a comment. I still have not received a response from Alun Cairns himself. Interestingly the photo above states that the post-it note is a duplicate but it is remarkably similar to the one still in my possesion. The red car behind Ross England is also remarkably similar to mine and parked in the same location, opposite Dr Bob’s and not outside his office. I did not have any idea of the intentions or identity of the person who placed the note on my car that day. Nasty comments online are one thing but a physical act is a whole different ball game. I remain of the opinion that Ross England’s actions that day were inappropriate and demonstrated a lack of understanding of the personal safety issues facing women today. I advised his employer of that. The decision to put this in the public domain was his and his alone.

Chris Elmore

Cllr Chris Elmore Sorry Mr Watts, but you’re not correct. Anyone can ask to see the cctv footage, if an incident takes place, literally anyone. It doesn’t mean you can watch it over and over without reason, but the public are allowed to ask if there has been some sort of incident. No one has abused their position. I’m not sure who’s in the political class, but that’s your view. All I did was answer a question, if you read what I said. Thanks a lot chris

Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts An incident? a post-it note is now an incident is it? its a waste of the operators time and such a frivolous request would no doubt be turned down if it were from a member of the public. Some time ago one of your assistants knocked my door during a local election and asked if I would like to speak to you. I gave her a brief run down of my concerns for the town and despite knowing you were potentially opening yourself up to an aggrieved voter who did not vote Labour you still took the time to come and speak to me and my partner and explain what was going on at the council, for that you earned my respect but sadly you are losing that by toeing the party line by trying to defend the indefensible and create political mischief. Look at the comments here from Barry residents, they can see this for what it is so lets just drop the charade? This is nothing more than a political game to distract the people of Barry from the real discussion of parking charges in Barry, a move that would rip the heart out of the town. As for my thoughts about the political class I’m not the only one who believes all too many of our councillors serve their own interests before those of the Vale.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold Frankly I’m surprised Liz has any interests that demands she spends time in Barry. As to fears of attack you have simply made yourself look stupid. If you fear attack in broad daylight you might want to consider the REAL risk men AND women face due to street lights being turned off based in crime stats from local police. Stats that allow lights to be turned off in areas of previous low crime. Don’t make this about female safety. Will the savings go to further improvements in Penarth. You may also want to consider the risk we face daily from drug takers here in the town. You may want to to ask yourself why you felt the need to even react to this whole incident with anything more than a chuckle. And if you consider some of these posts to be personal, I would suggest you are in the wrong job.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold: Chris Elmore with respect this is such a non issue. Why didn’t Liz just throw the note away. I’m sorry but no self respecting woman would use safety as an issue. In broad daylight? In Barry High Street? If she feels that at risk maybe she should be doiSee More

Shirley Hodges

Cllr Shirley Hodges: Matt Davies on the safer vale Web site they only talk about passing on info to the police from CCTV. So even if the public can view CCTV you need to be in the loop to know this. It’s all gone weird lol.

Shirley Hodges
 

Cllr Shirley Hodges: Anne Arnold couldn’t agree with you more. So many young people including women work around high street in hospitality jobs. These places close at Midnight or later. They go home in the pitch black. These stupid decision affect real people doing their best to earn living.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold Ahh but remember this is Barry not Penarth. Why would she care about that?

Shirley Hodges

Cllr Shirley Hodges Are you suggesting we in Barry are too saucy and common for the likes of a Penarth Councillor lol.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold I think we in Barry have a better sense of humour.

Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts Chris Elmore can you give me the details of the person I need to contact for access to the CCTV footage. I’d like to understand how Lis Burnett was at risk from this post-it note, I am intrigued to see who was in the street at the time that would have made her so nervous.

Clive Riley

Clive Riley I cannot believe the arguing over such a minor issue of a Tory demonstrating their usual Tory banter on someone which to be honest was harmless. Could we see some passion from politicians (if that’s what you are) about real issues because no one in there right mind gives a monkeys about this pointless story. I sent an email to Mr Cairns this week regarding the proposed 3g at colcot sports centre and would hold my breath on getting a reply. May I suggest you get back to proper issues as its an embarrassment.

Michael Johns

Michael Johns A non story but it made me chuckle. I take it it was a comedy piece. Maybe it could have started with ‘Once upon a time…. ‘ keep up the good tax payed work all.

Huw Thomas

Huw Thomas This is why people have no respect for politicians or councillors. It was a joke and now both have overreacted. They need to grow up!

Lis Burnett

Cllr Lis Burnett: I’ve been interested to read the comments on the post and thought it would be worth clarifying a few points. 1. There was absolutely nothing to identify the person who had placed the note and so could not judge if it was a joke or whether I was at risk. Far from being a prank it appears that Mr England took every step to avoid identification by walking right around the block before returning to his office. 2. In such a situation anyone can ask for CCTV coverage to be reviewed. It is necessary to provide the time and location and a description of the incident and then CCTV operatives review the specific footage. It is not possible to just watch CCTV footage without reason. In this case I notified a ten minute period but the incident took place only 2 minutes after I had left the car. 3. I did not make the matter public. I wrote privately to Alun Cairns MP about the conduct of his staff. My letter was then used by his employee to attack me. The only comment I have made to the media was to issue the same response to both papers when they asked for a comment. I still have not received a response from Alun Cairns himself. Interestingly the photo above states that the post-it note is a duplicate but it is remarkably similar to the one still in my possesion. The red car behind Ross England is also remarkably similar to mine and parked in the same location, opposite Dr Bob’s and not outside his office.

Hide 11 Replies
Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts Lis Burnett keep digging that hole, “at risk” from what? a little bit of glue smear from the post it note? a paper cut perhaps when you removed it. I find your excuses quite pathetic. I very much doubt a member of the public would be given access over such a trivial matter especially with the way the current council appear to run a “pay more for less” when it comes to services. I think calling this an ‘attack’ is extremely thin skinned, perhaps funding another pet project in Penarth might take your mind off of this?

Lis Burnett

Cllr Lis Burnett: You are entitled to your opinion Mr Watts. I hope that no woman in your life ever has to consider whether they are at risk of attack. It’s not a pleasant feeling. I repeat, I raised this privately with Ross England’s employer. It was his decision to put it in the public domain.

Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts Risk of attack?? you truly are now making yourself look utterly ridiculous, a post-it note constitutes a risk of attack?? how about the risk to the people of Barry, men and women at risk by the council’s decision to turn off the street lighting? Once again the council’s mantra is “pay more for less”

Lis Burnett

Cllr Lis Burnett : Again Mr Watts you are entitled to your opinion. However if you pop out to the shops in a break between appointments and on getting back into your car you see a scrawled note on your windscreen. You have a decision to take. Do you get back out of your car and if so will there be someone waiting to abuse or assault you. It was not possible to see what was on the note from the inside of my car. Ross England knows that I am not responsible for car parking so even when I read the note I didn’t see why he would be responsible. We hold weekly surgeries but always make sure people are not alone. Similarly there has been a comment about when we call on people and it is worth noting that we do not go alone. If someone contacts me and I then visit them I always ensure that someone knows where I am. I think most of us remember Suzy Lamplugh and those risks are always in the mind of most women if they are alone. It might be difficult to imagine feeling like that if you’ve never experienced it. Ross England obviously has no idea of the consequences of his action which is why I wrote privately to his employer. I am very disappointed at his subsequent actions.

Kevin Watts

Kevin Watts You keep going on about feeling at risk, how on earth did you feel at risk getting out of your car when you had just walked to it? If there was any risk then surely you would have noticed it as you approached your car and it was on a busy high street in broad daylight and not some dark alley where the street lights are turned off at night where drug taking is rife and apparently ignored by the police but well known to the locals, where the police don’t attend a 999 call when someone is brandishing a knife and there were women scared for their safety, so much so I waited with them until they were able to leave with still no sign of a response from the police despite those people that were reported ran up and down the lanes behind Holton Road. How dare you have the temerity to lecture me on risk and fears of assault when council decisions have led to our town being a more dangerous place to live and you play political games making a mountain out of a molehill over a silly prank. Playing on the lone female theme to try and dig your way out of this silly mess is reprehensible, you are a disgrace.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold Are you serious? You are making a big fuss out of nothing and frankly make women look weak.

Andy Chapman

Andy Chapman What a ridiculous reaction! What the hell is wrong with you?

Lis Burnett

Cllr Lis Burnett : Safeguarding of lone workers is an issue for men and women. As for being weak. I regularly put up with abuse like this while those who support my view feel intimidated and so contact me privately. I also regularly deadlift 70kg but I do know what it feels like to be assaulted in broad daylight as do other women who have contacted me today . I sincerely hope you don’t have to find out. I do not regard writing a letter as making a big fuss.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold You have placed yourself in this place by your ridiculous over reaction to the whole thing. Looking through this thread I’m struggling to find any support for your action. Who do you think was putting you at risk? Are you making the sexist assumption that a MAN was silently threatening you??? Has it crossed your mind that you should have laughed this off like most of us would? Are you so frightened that you see monsters everywhere? I think you need to speak to someone about your paranoia. And what are you doing about “lone walkers”? Are you going to push for the lighting to be put back on at night. Given you were so frightened in the daylight I hope you are thinking about those going home in the dark. And frankly who cares what you deadlift? You’re a disgrace and an embarrassment to us here in Barry. Oh wait…you don’t care about Barry. And you did make a fuss. A totally unnecessary one to make a point about those nasty Tories again. Has it entered your mind that you could have so easily avoided all of this by ignoring the whole childish prank. Thankfully you don’t represent me as a woman.

Huw Thomas

Huw Thomas Lis you have totally overreacted it’s as simple as that. Anyone with a sense of humour would understand that is a joke. The more you try to defend yourself the more you are embarrassing yourself! For future reference if someone sticks a post it note on your car in a busy street laugh it off like the rest of us would. Currently you are just showing us what a poor choice in councillors we have representing us.

Anne Arnold

Anne Arnold Huw Thomas well luckily we have the option to change that in May.

Mark Vockins

Mark Vockins Please can I view the CCTV footage of Labour’s Cllr Burnett finding the post-it note on her car.

Steve Rees

Steve Rees Stupid cow. What the hell?

About NewsNet

Penarth Daily News email address dmj@newsnet.uk . Penarth Daily News is an independent free on-line fair and balanced news service published by NewsNet Ltd covering the town of Penarth in the Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK. All our news items are based on the information we receive or discover at the time of publication and are published on the basis that they are accurate to the best of our knowledge and belief at that time.
This entry was posted in Penarth Daily News. Bookmark the permalink.

44 Responses to POST-IT-NOTE GATE : “I am disappointed with my fellow humans” – SAYS CLLR BURNETT

  1. EH says:

    Zzzzzz….

  2. Christopher David says:

    Bloomin eck look at all the fuss this jumped up councillor has caused over her hugely inflated opinion of herself and her status. Now she brings up icons of Human rights. Well we had Malcolm X now we have LIz XX. Ignore her and see how the complaint to the compliance team turns out.

  3. Dan Potts says:

    She has well and truly shot her self in the foot with this over reaction… Roll on the next council elections

  4. Ron Foxton says:

    Lint Buster, sorry, Lis Burnett… I hope the inevitable trauma counselling from such a dramatic and threatening incident isn’t also going to be a burden on the hard-grafting taxpayers of the borough?

    Will somebody PLEASE cover her car in post-its. I’ll foot the stationary bill.

    Lifting 70kg? We need pictures… Very butch, very Putin! Lint Buster is my new screensaver…

    • Lindsay says:

      I don’t think encouraging vandalism is helpful. Unlike some of you, I didn’t have 30 minutes to waste reading all the above but enough to get the gist of the posturing and political points scoring. Storm in a tea cup.

      • Tom says:

        Be quiet, everyone. Lindsay has spoken.

      • Mr Pat Fadden says:

        Lindsay, no time to read the article! but all the time in the world to voice your support for this local 70kgs bench pressing Labour Councillor.

  5. Willy Wonka says:

    Wow, Quoting Maya Angilou over this, really should be saved for something important

    Liz Burnett, you need to get our more and show some emotional intelligence, you’ve just made yourself look daft and unintelligent.

  6. Frank (yawn) Bird says:

    Dear lord above…… children please get back to your desks!

  7. Dave says:

    Liz, mate, the best thing you can do now is just say “whoops I was having a funny 5 mins and I wasn’t thinking straight, didn’t mean for this to blow up so big. soz guys”

    I’m finding it hilarious but for the sake of your sanity and reputation just
    let
    it
    die

  8. Andy says:

    Cllr Burnett’s level of self-importance reaches new heights, perhaps she can use the money from St Pauls to hire a team of minders!

  9. Ann Crawley says:

    For God’s sake…what an absolute load of tosh. Felt threatened by a post it note…didn’t know if she was going to be attacked. The over reaction is ridiculous and Lis Burnett if you felt so threatened why get out of the car in the first place to retrieve the note. Why didn’t you simply drive home or to a place of safety and read it when you got there. There’s nothing like making a drama out of a crisis…particularly when an election is looming. Grow up!!

  10. Julia hopkins says:

    No doubt the councillors above are using their ‘coucillor’ time to respond to this. Please expend your energies in representing those who voted ( or not ) for you in more productive ways. Unfortunately the local elections are unlikely to change anything, they’ve all got a cushy little number here, hence this ridiculous nonsense!

  11. Barrie Howell says:

    So many comments about a ridiculous complaint by Cllr. Lis Burnett; it beggars belief that she is really serious about this trivia. Lifting the note and binning it would have been the simple answer. How can people vote for this person; yet they do.
    As William Shakespeare wrote ‘.. me thinks the lady protesteth too much.’

  12. Frank Evans says:

    This person is actually a Councillor and makes decisions that affects all our lives?
    This is the complete joke!
    “I have a dream that one day all post it notes will find their way onto her car!”

  13. snoggerdog says:

    you can get a nasty paper cut from a post it note (i think people should be referring to said note as the “barry stanley knife”

  14. Christopher David says:

    I love this I can push 70 Kilos bit-Liz darling I’ve caught bigger trout-ish.🙂 Well I guess the Barry hard knocks will be shivering in their boots now at the thought of Liz X the world stage human right missionary comes thundering through certain town areas flexing her muscles. “Am I tough enough? Hell yes” HaaARRRr. This is pure Walter Mitty land.

  15. Miss Understood says:

    I personally think we should all send Cllr Bunett some post it notes. It may reduce her stationery expenses!

  16. Kevin says:

    The fact that so many people have commented shows just how incredibly stupid this public servant has been to pursue such a trivial non-event. She should be ashamed of herself for such small minded, time-wasting behaviour.

  17. Miss Understood says:

    Why don’t we all send Cllr Bunett some post it notes! It may cut down her expenses claim’s for stationery!

  18. Matt says:

    Hey everyone, here’s an idea: how about you stop being so mean and making fun of Liz? She’s right to be concerned – I remember seeing an episode of The Real Hustle when Alex left a fake postit note parking ticket on someone’s car causing them to be so bewildered when they returned that he ambushed them and stole their phone and glasses

    • Christopher David says:

      Are you Mad Matt- never seen the film but……………………..

    • Andy says:

      But no-one would dare do that to Liz, as everyone now knows she can lift 70kgs!

      • Harry says:

        She used to go to judo with my mum, who would would pretend to be ill on nights when they would be up against each other. She is a black belt but hides it pretty well – the pink suzuki alto is all part of the charade.

  19. Marina Wheeler says:

    I propose that Liz Burnett officially replace Boris Johnson as default comedy politician

  20. Derek Winter says:

    Ok Lis, don’t try and kid yourself – let’s admit that the postit thing was never an issue. We’ve all blown things out of proportion like this before and I understand it’s hard to back down when they become such a big story. I, for one, promise to not make this your defining moment in my memory as long as in future you just laugh it off. Please.

  21. john64 says:

    I trust that Cllr Burnett and her colleagues won’t push unsolicited Labour Party flyers through my letterbox anymore. After all, under Jeremy Corbyn Labour’s policies frighten me to death!!

  22. Ron Foxton says:

    “I am disappointed with my fellow humans” – SAYS CLLR BURNETT

    Based on almost every single comment raised across all social media channels about this ludicrous story – and probably in every bar, Rymans, W H Smith and Staples across South Wales – it’s fair to say that your fellow humans are pretty disappointed with you LB.

    Personally, I can’t wait for the next instalment…

  23. Ian Perry says:

    We are talking about a real person…

    A very immature character placed the post-it note on Cllr Lis Burnetts car – deliberately targeting her. The prankster could have included his details, after all, a penalty charge notice is supposed to be paid. Just weeks from now, people will be voting for him to represent them at the Welsh Assembly. I’m honestly horrified at the thought – especially given the views he’s expressed on social media.

    Cllr Lis Burnetts reaction was over the top, but who are we to judge her from our shoes, not hers?

    What no one has raised… Cllr Burnett has stated that the parking issue was not part of her portfolio – parking coming under Cllr G John. But, as a cabinet, is there not collective responsibility? Given the decisions the cabinet makes, I’m not surprised that members of the cabinet are distancing themselves from the decisions the cabinet…

    • Paul says:

      By your definition pretty much anything that warrants a chuckle would be considered immature. I do not want to live in that world.

      Except for this event I have faith in Lis’s ability and as long as she doesn’t do something cringey and stupid like this again then I’ll still be voting for her.

    • J.J. Henry says:

      Ian are you seriously saying that Burnett might have thought this to be a valid parking enforcement notice?
      Maybe both yourself and the Lady Burnett need some “distancing” as you so rightly put it!!

      “Distancing is a concept arising from the work of developmental psychologists Heinz Werner and Bernard Kaplan. Distancing describes the process by which psychologists help a person establish their own individuality through understanding their separateness from everything around them.”

    • Christopher David says:

      Grow up

    • I agree with your first paragraph. Ross England is very immature and has very right wing views. He would be an absolute disaster if elected in May.

  24. CelticMan says:

    Get rid!

  25. Christopher David says:

    Have to say, me included we are getting almost– not entirely but almost as sad as this daft bench pressing black belt in insignificance women ( oil fite ya Olive) by giving this non entity so much “air” time. Lets just vote her out and try and get a grown up.

  26. MCO says:

    I must admit that I find it incredible that the focus of this discussion is on Councillor Burnett’s response, not on the original action of Ross England. It is patently obvious the the local Tory Party machinery has been working overtime flooding the letters pages and threads like this vilifying the victim of the so called prank. My thoughts on the matter are why does the Tory Welsh Assembly candidate for the Vale has so much time on his hands that he can watch out for local Labour politicians to target in this way instead of getting out of his office and engaging with local people and finding out what their concerns are.

    • Ron Foxton says:

      The inherent beauty and success of the iconic post-it note is its immediacy and ease of use. No faffing about for a spare piece of recycled paper or scribbling on the back of a spare hand/desk/wall/shaved pet, just peel any number of pastel-shaded squares off and stick in plain sight as a timely reminder to action an event that requires ones full and immediate attention. Indeed, with speed and an amount of dexterity when the moment arises, one could easily fashion an amusing faux parking ticket in a matter of seconds, stick it to a poorly parked car windscreen say, and return to ones workstation with only momentary disruption to the political task in hand of ‘engaging with local people and finding out what their concerns are’. One of those concerns obviously being the misuse of CCTV operatives valuable time and resources identifying villainous post-it pasters?

      Storm. Teacup.

    • Roger says:

      Sheeeeesh!! I don’t know if I’m allowed to swear on PDN but if I was, I would be now! How on earth do some people think it’s… ACCEPTABLE… to make such a huge fuss over a freaking postit note?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?!?! The “local Tory Party machinery” of a postit note pad, a sharpie and a mild sense of humour……..?? This isn’t about politics – I’m a labour supporter but still I agree that Lis way way overreacted, obviously. Just imagine if a labour candidate left a postit on a conservative candidate’s car and they made a fuss? You and I, rightly, would think it was ridiculous

    • Christopher David says:

      I see- hhmmmm- so post it noting, a new pastime is worthy of focus eh! Oh you must be one of the one party state Wales membership club hah.

    • Brian says:

      Just because I’m on side with Lis’ political party doesn’t mean I won’t take the piss out of her for doing this

Leave a Reply

