PENARTH’S OVERNIGHT “MINI-HURRICANE” FELLS TREES

Heavy equipment was brought into Victoria Square, Penarth this morning to deal with a tree which was brought down by last night’s storm (Photo Tom Crooks)

A tree in Victoria Square – in the heart of Penarth’s Conservation Area – was brought down by last night’s powerful westerly gale-force winds.

Today workmen were on the scene with a heavy equipment removing the tree and branches after it collapsed in an exceptionally-strong gust.

It was “Goodnight Aileen” for this tree in Victoria Square, Penarth this morning (Photo Tom Crooks)

The wind was  the tail-end of ” Storm Aileen” – in which gusts were predicted to reach  up to 60 mph.

In other parts of Penarth, garden fences had also been pushed over in the storm and there was a report of a shed-roof being blown off and another tree being blown down in Westbourne Road  .

About NewsNet

Penarth Daily News email address dmj@newsnet.uk . Penarth Daily News is an independent free on-line fair and balanced news service published by NewsNet Ltd covering the town of Penarth in the Vale of Glamorgan, Wales, UK. All our news items are based on the information we receive or discover at the time of publication and are published on the basis that they are accurate to the best of our knowledge and belief at that time. Comments posted on the site by commentators reflect their opinions and are not necessarily shared, endorsed or supported by Penarth Daily News.
This entry was posted in Penarth Daily News. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to PENARTH’S OVERNIGHT “MINI-HURRICANE” FELLS TREES

  1. June Collins says:

    We never had winds like that under a Labour controlled VoG Council.

  2. Fishhenge says:

    There was another tree down in Westbourne Road. And the lid flew off my bin!

  3. Jayflan says:

    I awoke to discover a large camouflage tent on my front path in Stanwell Road! No idea what to do with it, or how to find its owner.

  4. Windsor in my view says:

    Let’s hope the council replace it with a new native species

  5. Erica Sykes says:

    When you compare it with the devistation in the Caribbean it’s stupid to make these daft comments. People really do need something to worry about.

  6. Dave says:

    This news blogs attract all sorts of commentary which is often almost if not as good as the article to read. Worrying about all sorts of world issues is all very well buts lets not lose focus on whats happening in this great town of ours ! (Surprisingly my fence made it, the plant pot didn’t.)

  7. Ben Dover says:

    I had a walk this morning and my hat fell off. I had to chase my hat along the road and put it back on my hat, then it fell off again. I then decided to put the hat in my pocket.

    • Ed Phelan DeBriese says:

      The same thing happened to me, but when I got home, I discovered that the hat had your name in it, and when I followed the instructions, I broke the peak. Do you think I might have my hat back?

Comments are closed.